Writing and writing and writing, oh my!

It’s been a while since November, hasn’t it? I’ve been busy since then! With the PhD done and dusted, I’ve had so much time to enjoy  the artistic pursuits I’ve missed. I have an oil painting that’s almost finished and I’m rather happy with it (although there’s this one tree that’s bugging me). And, as you might recall from last November, I’m writing. I’d say ‘again’, but as I wrote a novel in the final year of my PhD, I never really stopped. I just took breaks.

This winter, I’ve been editing a great deal. Editing a novel is a lot like editing a thesis, and can be just as horrific. I took November and December to write a full novel (80k) and am looking forward to April when I’ll edit it. I have two other novels to edit this year as well, and one to write in November. In other words, I’m as busy as an author would be, but have get to see any money from this. But I write for the love of it, not for the money, and always will.

I’d love to take a year and just write, but of course I’m doing all of the above this year as well as job searching, as well as volunteering 2-3 days a week, as well as travelling, and as well as blogging and other minor projects that do actual support my career path. I’m doing things that I enjoy doing, that I want to do. And at the end of the day, that’s developing me as a person and making me stronger and calmer. It’s hard to be ‘unemployed’ and it’s hard to readjust after the PhD, but sometimes that time period afterwards can be absolutely wonderful if you let it.

 

Leave a Reply

